When We Were Young

I remember lots of things about when we were all little.

One of the very first things I remember is Lenny being born.  It was hard then, now I understand, because Daisy was sick a lot of the time, in and out of hospital with some very bad diseases.  Mum says there was always a hospital bag packed, and as soon as Daisy got past a certain level of sickness, it was go go go, to the hospital, Dad telling his boss that he had to take time off to look after me and Lenny, and Mum and Daisy gone for a few days, a week, or even more.

I remember Lenny being in a plastic baby cot that was for newborns, but he was about four months old.  He was massive when he was born, like a six month old or something.  But then, four months later, he was bigger than a man (exaggeration alert) and him being in that plastic cot, sitting up and sucking his two front fingers, this looked very funny.

I remember Daisy too, with her cheeks bright red, and a little vest with poppers it had yellow ducks on it.  I can remember thinking I hope that Daisy gets better soon so that we can all be together again, Mum and Daisy and Lenny can come home.

We used to all get a bath together, Daisy, Lenny and Me.  Lenny used to be in this inflatable yellow thingy so that he didnt slip under, and Mum was always in the bathroom blowing bubbles, saying ‘One for Rosie’ (she blew a bubble for me), ‘One for Daisy’ (she blew one for Dais) and one for Lenny!  We really appreciated those bubbles and laughed and laughed when we got our own.  It didnt seem like there was anything different about us all at the time, just like we were having quite a lot of fun, especially when Mum and Daisy were home from hospital.

Some of the things that Daisy had are here; double pneumonia, tonsilitis, laryngitis, meningitis, bronchiolitis (all lots of itis’s) but she is superstrong at the same time as being vulnerable.  She has learned to fight and fight, and the thing that is great about Dais is that she never feels sorry for herself.  I remember when she had had her tonsils out, she hadn’t eaten for a very long time, and we went to visit her in hospital.  Her face looked very small and she was quite sad.  We took her outside to the hospital grounds in a wheelchair that belonged to the ward, and there were millions and millions of dandelions.  Dad said that she shouldnt touch them because she was vulnerable for infections, but we let her come out of the wheelchair for a bit and she was just so HAPPY patting the daffodils.  Lots of other people I know might have been like ‘oh, I’ve had an operation, I havn’t been able to eat or drink for ages, I’m on a drip, isnt life awful’ but Daisy was just like ‘Dandelions!’.

Anyway, that’s the awesome thing about my sister.  If she’s happy, she’s happy, if she’s sad you really know about it because she has a cry like a cheesegrater against a blackboard (you know what I mean) and just the opposite, her laugh is a tinkling bell that brightens up the world.

When we were young it was as though every family should be like ours, and in a way I think that every family SHOULD be like ours, accepting everyone, not putting pressure on to be this way or that way, just loving each other.  Things changed as I got older and moved through school, I saw us all through other people’s eyes and sometimes felt like I was wrong, like we were wrong, like we were freaks or something.

The good news is that I have come through that now.  Its like when we were young again, only louder, messier, and even more fun!

Leave a Reply

